Christmas Is Here — Almost!

If it hasn’t dawned on you yet, we are just 20 days from Christmas Day (only 19 more shopping days).  I know!!  You are saying, “Really?!” as you are rushing to your calendar to double check.  Now I AM beginning to panic.  I am definitely NOT ready.

Just this past Monday I finished putting up our outside Christmas decorations.  The “baton” for this job was “passed” to me this year because my husband is having some back problems (bulging disc is acting up again) and work at the bank is REALLY hectic right now (if you are a banker, you know the anxiety embedded in the words “Bank Examiners”).  This was the first time I did the outside decorating all by myself.  Consequently, I was a little slow at deciding, arranging, rearranging, and getting it all hooked up to the many timers, extension cords, and power outlets.  WHEW!! WHAT A JOB!

IMG_1698

It’s not quite dark yet in this photo, and I know it doesn’t look like a lot of decorations.  However, it was a big job for little ‘ole me, all by myself.

IMG_1699

And, of course, you can tell this is the sidewalk leading up to the front door.

IMG_1700

The front door is a combination of a couple of “ideas” from Pinterest.  Yes, I LOVE Pinterest!!

Now…what is on your desperate “Need to Do Before Christmas” list?  Mine says:  1. Finish Christmas shopping;  2. Wrap presents;  3. Mail out Christmas cards after updating my mailing list;  4. Do the traditional baking/making of Christmas treats;  5. Clean house;  6. Participate in the church Christmas program;  7. Co-Host our 2nd annual Progressive Christmas Dinner and Caroling with friends;  8.  Do laundry and pack for traveling;  and……….NO TELLING WHAT ELSE I AM FORGETTING!

So, I better get busy!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dorothy Townsend
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 14:14:34

    You will always remember this year…the first year of retirement….the things that you can do now that you were not able to do before….God bless you and your “New Life”…

    Psalm 118:24 This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

    ________________________________

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Retirement......LOVE IT!

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading